Spread the love

Toss Bangladesh chose to bat v West Indies

For the first time in their cricket history, Bangladesh have gone into a Test match without a fast bowler. Their all-spin attack will be pleased that they will be bowling last, after Shakib Al Hasan won his second toss of the series.

Bangladesh left out Mustafizur Rahman – who only bowled four overs in the first Test in Chattogram – and brought in Liton Das as wicketkeeper to enable Mushfiqur Rahim, who is nursing a finger injury, to play as a specialist batsman.

Shadman Islam, meanwhile, makes his Test debut in place of Imrul Kayes, who is out with a shoulder injury. A left-hand opening batsman, Shadman was the top run-getter in the 2014 Under-19 World Cup, with 406 runs at an average of 101.50.

West Indies were forced to make one change, replacing the suspended Shannon Gabriel with Shermon Lewis, a fast bowler who made his Test debut against India last month.

Bangladesh: 1 Shadman Islam, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Mominul Haque, 4 Mohammad Mithun, 5 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 6 Mushfiqur Rahim, 7 Mahmudullah, 8 Liton Das (wk), 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 10 Taijul Islam, 11 Nayeem Hasan

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), 2 Kieran Powell, 3 Shai Hope, 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Sunil Ambris, 6 Roston Chase, 7 Shane Dowrich (wk), 8 Devendra Bishoo, 9 Kemar Roach, 10 Jomel Warrican, 11 Shermon Lewis

Source link

More from my site


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here