Elina Svitolina beat Caroline Wozniacki 6-4, 6-0 in last year’s final.

Simona Halep was the 2016 champion, beating Madison Keys 7-6(2), 6-3, and was runner-up to Belinda Bencic the year before.

LOOK: From Safina to Svitolina – A decade of champions at the Rogers Cup

Sloane Stephens has equalled her best run here – during last year’s campaign she reached the semifinal, where she lost to Wozniacki.

Ashleigh Barty meets Halep for the first time here.

Svitolina and Stephens have played each other only twice before – both times in 2014. The Ukrainian enjoyed a straight-sets win in Charleston, 6-4, 6-4, while the American won their Round of 32 clash at the Australian Open, 7-5, 6-4.

Source link

More from my site


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here